The Boy On The Other Side

This poem is inspired by Alan Schroeder’s “Satchmo’s Blues”. I am creating a poetry lesson for a 5th grade class where I want the students to come up with  a poem to describe a specific event in the book. Hopefully, exploring the book in a poetic view will not only help the students learn about Louis Armstrong but also  help them learn how music shaped his life. I created this poem for the students so I can show them a different perspective. This poem is written from the perspective of the horn from the pawnshop that Louis was working so hard for.

The Boy On The Other Side

Day in, day out,
I sit here, waiting,
For that one person.
I sit here silently,
Collecting dust,
With dings and dents and all.
The wide-eyed boy on the other side watches me,
Day in, day out.
Day out, day in.
Is he the person I’ve been waiting for?

-The Horn In The Pawnshop Window

Leave a Reply

