“If one must have gone, why not I? Why may I not rest me from this restlessness and sleep from this wide waking? Was not the world’s alembic, Time, in his young hands, and is not my time waning? Are there so many workers in the vineyard that the fair promise of this little body could lightly be tossed away? The wretched of my race that line the alleys of the nation sit fatherless and unmothered; but Love sat beside his cradle, and in his ear Wisdom waited to speak. Perhaps now he knows the All-love, and needs not to be wise. Sleep, then, child,–sleep till I sleep and waken to a baby voice and the ceaseless patter of little feet–above the Veil.”
– W. E. B. Du Bois, The Souls of Black Folk ‘of the passing of the first born’

Leave a Reply

