The Kite Runner

For you, a thousand times over.  – Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

The Kite Runner. It is my first time reading this book, and I wondered why it took me so long to pick it up and start reading it. In all honesty, I guess I just wasn’t ready. It was not just for this book. I wasn’t ready to start reading for myself again. You know, the type of reading where you are curled up in your favorite place with a book in hand. The type of reading where you just read without taking a break except for eating and going to the bathroom.

I guess college kind of ruined that for me. I read because I had to. Otherwise, I wouldn’t be of much use in lectures and I wouldn’t be able to complete my assignments. It got really bad when I had 5 classes together and I was reading 4-5 different books each night, constantly trying to get through pages and pages of reading. That really killed my interest for reading books for entertainment. But I won’t say I regretted having to read those books back to back because I learned how to manage my time well. As an English major, I really learned how to read in between the lines. Now sometimes, even though I don’t try to, I start analyzing the book as I read it. And sometimes I stop myself and ask,  ‘What in the world am I doing? Just read.’.

So, this is the first book that I’ve picked up for reading for fun. And what a book it is. It’s about love, friendship, family, hatred, the inner mind. It made me smile. It made me cry. Khaled Hosseini did a marvelous job. Not only did he capture the moment of which he writes, but he also captures the reader’s attention so well that the reader can’t help but to absorb every little detail of this captivating story. I have to say, my most favorite character is Hassan. His friendliness, his loyalty, his personality really touched my heart. If I am ever blessed with such friends as him, I wouldn’t give them up for the world. And Amir, he’s okay. Although there were some things that I disliked about him, I understand that he was just a kid at that time and so his feeling are understandable. I know that if he was told about the secret, he would have protected Hassan with his life. In all, this book is an awesome read and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good book to read (or re-read).

Leave a Reply

