An Invitation

I wrote this poem in two versions because when I originally completed this piece, I had so many different things going on in it. In version 1, I am frustrated and in the process of calming down. In version 2, I am calm and more observant. I did not want to combine the two versions together to make one poem because I find that each version by itself  both conveys and isolates my emotions than that of the other.But at the same time, these two versions complement each other as well which helps me to provide a larger picture.

an invitation
(Version 1)

The wind calls for me.
Its soothing and gentle touch
Beckons me to come and listen to
The cricket’s song,
Outside my bedroom window.
The nocturnal sky, midnight blue,
looks down at me,
Drowning out the sea that laps against my shore.
Blessed, I let go of all my worries, hopes, and dreams.
The white horse comes galloping
And I let myself be taken away.
Who am I?
I am no one,
No one in particular.
Being a no one is indeed a splendid thing.

(Version 2)

The wind calls for me
Through my bedroom window.
Its soothing and gentle touch
Beckons me
To come and listen to its sweet melody.
The nocturnal sky looks down at me
As I find solace in its heavenly vaults,
Midnight blue
and wisps of iron-grey,
Like a field of Kashful* singing
Under a moonless night.

______________________________
*Kans Grass- a grass native to South Asia

Leave a Reply

