Ma

O’ ma,
You’re the first person I heard…
Way before the world opened its doors to me.
You cradled me as I fell asleep
Listening to your heartbeat.
Your face glowed with joy
As you watched me sleeping,
Slowly breathing in and out.
You’re the first person I called out to
And you were the first to call back.
You’re the first to call back…
Always.
Your handful of smiles
Sheds light to my world,
Your understanding and worry
Veils me from it.
Your maternal love
Shows me how to care.
You are my North Star.
You were then,
You are now,
And you always will be.

Leave a Reply

