The Night Sky

I kick off my shoes
and plant my feet on the grass.
It feels gentle and soft
like a cool, feathered pillow.
I sit down and close my eyes
to feel the wind,
to let it touch my heart,
and pull at my heartstrings.
I want to let it sing me
a lullaby.
I lie down on my bed of grass
as they prick my ear.
I look up at the globe.
Shiny white dots fill up
the entire sky.
It’s breathtaking.
I stare up at the night sky
searching for shooting stars
and meteors
while I wish on the moon.
I stare until my eyes
close and drift off to sleep.

Dear Moon,
I hope all my wishes come true.

Leave a Reply

