Awaiting The Chorus Line

Lightning,
come and embrace me.
Your light is extravagant
as I stand here and watch in awe.
You are the veins which run along the depths of the sky.

I wish I were a tree,
for my tops would graze the gentle wind
and swing to and fro to its melody.

I wish I were the soft earth,
waiting the sound of pitter-patter,
hearing them pounding against my river bed.

Ah! What a sight!

It is as if my soul has parted from my body
with no desire of returning;
like a baby bird who has just sprouted its wings.

And like that,
the procession has passed,
making its way home.

Leave a Reply

